Week 12 – Artist Conversation – Alice Andreini

Artist: Alice Andreini
Exhibition: No-Mans Land
Media: Paint, Oils
Gallery: Max L. Gatov Gallery East
Website: andreiniart
Instagram: –

IMG_7420Formal Analysis

All of Andreini’s pieces were painted on a canvas. They were all ranging in color. Inside of each painting, first looked like tron like skateparks to me. The location in the paintings look like skateparks from space. I thought the artists was a skateboarder themselves.

IMG_7416

Content Analysis

Turns out that these “skateparks” are actually golf courses. The idea here is how nature is a pure form but that is taken away from it when other forces use the area for profit, such as a golf course. Andreini shares that these landscapes depicted in her paintings, reveal the ideologies of a culture.

Synthesis / My Experience

As I stated before, my first impression was that these were skateparks. I had believed that I would hear from the artist they had skateboarded as a hobby. When I had found out the actual inspiration, I found it very interesting! I really liked the message. I understand how nature is tainted when buildings and whatnot are placed on top of it. It does ruin the pureness that it had originally had. The paintings themselves definitely pulled me in to want to know more.

About the Artist

Alice Andreini is currently a graduate student at CSULB. Andreini is working torwards her masters degree in Fine Arts in the Drawing and Painting Program. Andreini enjoys reading poetry and attending other galleries during her free time!!

Leave a Reply

